Network Traffic

Cambridge JANET traffic information by host

This page provides access to statistics of CUDN-JANET/EastNet network traffic broken down by individual local IP address within an institution and with an indication of the protocol used. That information is nonsensitive personal information in terms of the Data Protection Act. As notified in the Reporter and on the CUDN web page, the information is provided so that administrators of institutional networks and of individual computers can be aware of the amount of traffic and therefore the charges incurred by use of their computers. The network traffic statistics will be accessible on the Web by anyone using a network-connected computer within the University, its Colleges, and other institutions connected to the CUDN.

A maximum of 31 days of information is provided and the information is deleted after that time.

The network accounting information accessed via the traffic accounting pages may differ slightly from the traffic totals available here, as they are derived from different sets of raw data.

Index to groupings of institutions

Council institutions
General Board institutions
Medical Research Council
Other organisations
School of Arts and Humanities
School of Biological Sciences
School of Clinical Medicine
School of Humanities and Social Sciences
School of Physical Sciences
School of Technology
Theological Federation
University Societies

Index of institutions for which by-host traffic information is available


Christ's College
Churchill College
Clare College
Clare Hall
Corpus Christi College
Darwin College
Downing College
Emmanuel College
Fitzwilliam College
Girton College
Gonville & Caius College
Homerton College
Hughes Hall
Jesus College
King's College
Lucy Cavendish College
Magdalene College
Murray Edwards College (formerly New Hall)
Newnham College
Office of Intercollegiate Services
Pembroke College
Queens' College
Robinson College
Selwyn College
Sidney Sussex College
St Catharine's College
St Edmund's College
St John's College
Trinity College
Trinity Hall
Wolfson College

Council institutions

ADC Theatre
Cambridge Assessment (was Local Examinations Syndicate)
Cambridge Assessment (was Local Examinations Syndicate): Res. & Eval. Div.
Careers Service
Counselling Service
Disability Resource Centre
Fitzwilliam Museum
Gates Cambridge Trust
Kettle's Yard
Physical Education etc
Unite (was Amicus)
University Farm and Agronomy Centre
University Press
University Social Club

General Board institutions

UIS: CUDN + Wireless Infrastructure
UIS: Cambridge Grid Project
UIS: Co-location service
UIS: E-mail services
UIS: Falcon Service
UIS: Firewall
UIS: Managed Web Service
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Misc.
UIS: Multicast
UIS: Servers
UIS: Staff network
UIS: Streaming Media Service
UIS: User/Teaching Rooms
UIS: VPN Service
UIS: Videoconference service and development
UIS: Web & News services
UIS: West Cambridge Data Centre
UIS: Wireless UniOfCam
UIS: Wireless eduroam
UIS:DS/MCS infrastructure
University Biomedical Services
University Library
University Library: open-access facilities

Medical Research Council

MRC Biostatistics Unit (MRC-BSU)
MRC Cognition & Brain Sciences Unit (MRC-CBU)
MRC Laboratory for Molecular Biology (MRC-LMB)
MRC Resource Centre for Human Nutrition Research (MRC-HNR)

Other organisations

Astra Zeneca
CCI: Birdlife International
CCI: British Trust for Ornithology
CCI: Cambridge Conservation Initiative Services
CCI: Flora and Fauna International
CCI: International Union for Conservation of Nature
CCI: Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
CCI: World Conservation Monitoring Centre
Cambridge Enterprise
Cambridge Innovation Capital
Cambridge Union Society
Crystallographic Data Centre
Great St Mary's Church
LoRa Net (Ian Lewis)
Needham Research Institute
Sanger Centre (EMBL, HGMP, etc)
Tyndale House

School of Arts and Humanities

Architecture, Department of
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
Classics, Faculty of
Council of the School of Arts & Humanities (CSAH)
Divinity, Faculty of
English, Faculty of
Language Centre
Modern and Medieval Languages, Faculty of
Music, Faculty of
Philosophy, Faculty of
Theoretical & Applied Linguistics, Dept of (English & Applied Linguistics Research Centre)
Theoretical & Applied Linguistics, Dept of (Linguistics, Dept of/Modern and Medieval Languages)

School of Biological Sciences

Biochemistry, Department of
Botanic Garden
Council of the School of Biological Sciences:
Genetics, Department of
Gurdon Institute (previously Wellcome)
Pathology, Department of
Pharmacology, Department of
Physiology, Department of, etc: 307 Huntingdon Rd
Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, Department of
Plant Sciences, Department of
Psychology, Department of
Sainsbury Laboratory
Stem Cell Research and Systems Biology, Centres for
Veterinary Medicine, Department of
Zoology, Department of

School of Clinical Medicine

CIMR (Cambridge Institute for Medical Research)
CR-UK Cambridge Institute
Clinical Neurosciences, Department of
Clinical School (General)
Clinical School (MSDN): Hutchison/MRC Research Centre
Clinical School (MSDN): MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit
Clinical School (MSDN): Radiology
Clinical School (MSDN): Wolfson Brain Imaging Centre
MRC Epidemiology Unit
Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Strangeways Research Laboratory

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Archaeology & Anthropology, Faculty of
Biological Anthropology, Department of
Criminology, Institute of
Development Studies (ceased 2012-10-22)
HSPS at 17 Mill Lane
HSPS/POLIS in Alison Richard Building (formerly International Studies)
HSPS/SHSS in the Mond (formerly Centre of African Studies)
HSPS/Sociology/Psychology/SPS in various places (formerly POLIS, PPSIS, SPS)
History & Philosophy of Science, Department of
Land Economy
Lauterpacht International Law Research Centre
Law, Faculty of
Social Anthropology, Department of

School of Physical Sciences

Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Department of (DAMTP)
Astronomy, Institute of
Chemistry, Department of
Chemistry, Department of: PWF Managed Cluster
E-Science Centre
Earth Sciences, Department of
Earth Sciences: BP Institute
Geography, Department of
Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences
Materials Science, Department of
Mathematics, Faculty of: PWF
Physics, Biological and Soft Systems
Physics, Cavendish Teaching and Administration
Physics, Department of: PWF Managed Cluster
Physics, High Energy Physics
Physics, Mott Building subdivisons
Physics, Nanophotonics, Optoelectronics & Microelectronics
Physics, Radio Astronomy & Astrophysics
Physics, Theory of Condensed Matter
Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, Department of (DPMMS)

School of Technology

Biotechnology, Institute of
Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership
Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology
Computer Laboratory (Computer Science)
Engineering, Department of
Judge Business School
Nanoscience Centre

Theological Federation

Margaret Beaufort Institute of Theology
Ridley Hall
Wesley House College
Westcott House
Westminster College
Woolf Institute

University Societies

Graduate Union
Students Union
Varsity Publications